Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Homestyle Chicken and Dumplings

Dinner on 1/31/14 was Homestyle Chicken and Dumplings.

So, I’m sure you can tell by now that we are not heavy vegetable eaters in this family. This recipe calls for chopped celery and carrots and my husband actually okay-ed them both. Substituted onion powder for the onions and used about 1.5 lbs of chicken thighs, but otherwise left the recipe the same.

1-31-14

Finished meal:

Homestyle Chicken and Dumplings

Overall we both enjoyed the recipe. Husband said he couldn’t even tell there was celery in it and the carrots didn’t both him. I thought it could have used a bit more creaminess. Serving on the day it was cooked the biscuits puffed up nice and gave the meal a nice texture. By the time I finished the leftovers a few days later they had gotten quite soggy, though it didn’t make the meal taste bad. I would still recommend eating this fresh, instead of as leftovers.

