Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Teriyaki Ribs

Tuesday’s dinner was Teriyaki Ribs. What could be better than ribs and Teriyaki?

Recipe called for 2 lbs baby back pork ribs. Talked to my butcher and they had extra meaty baby back ribs, so that’s what I went with. Got a total weight around 2.5 lbs, so the meat weight was about 2 lbs. Had to cut the rack into three sections in order for it to fit into the crock pot.

Instead of measuring the Teriyaki sauce, I coated each section with sauce and once they were all added to the crock pot, I poured a little extra over top. Can you tell my family likes Teriyaki? One of my favorite rib recipes also calls for Teriyaki, so I took from that recipe and added one cinnamon stick and one star anise to the crock pot for extra aromatics/flavor.

When the meat was nearing 5 hours, I tasted it and while it was good, it didn’t have as much flavor as I was hoping for, probably since the meat didn’t marinade before cooking. So I added a little more Teriyaki and also some soy sauce.

1-28-14

Finished meal:

Teriyaki Ribs

Husband said the final outcome was good, though the meat was a little harder than usual to get off the bones. I think that had to do with me not removing the membrane first. When I ate mine, the first bone was hard to get off the rack, but after that, I just pulled the membrane off and they rest were easy to separate. Might want to do that before cooking next time.

