Tags

, , , , , , ,

No-Bake Peanut Butter Oatmeal Balls

This is another recipe for trying to sneak healthy snacks into my diet. Found this recipe on Pinterest (http://got2run4me.com/2013/07/10/easy-no-bake-oatmeal-peanut-butter-ball-recipe/ ) and decided to give it a try. I did some looking around online and decided to go with Optimum Nutrition’s Whey Protein Powder. They were one of the highest rated powders and one of the cheapest, since that stuff can get expensive quickly. The recipe mentions that the balls were hard to form due to low moisture, so I did 3 tablespoons of honey instead of 2 tablespoons.

Recipe:
3/4 cup oats
3/4 cup vanilla protein powder
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup chocolate chips
3 tablespoons honey

The recipe made 22 balls which were 73 calories a piece. After working with the recipe, it was way too dry even with the extra honey. I think when I make it again, I will only be using 1 rounded scoop of the protein powder (3/4 cup was about 2 1/2 scoops) and we’ll see if that makes them more manageable.

Peanut Butter Protein Balls 1

Finished Product:

Peanut Butter Protein Balls 2

I have made these again using the same amount of oats, peanut butter and chocolate ships, but using only one rounded scoop of protein powder and 2 tbsp of honey. It was much easier to roll that way. Wound up only making 20 balls and they were 71 calories each.

