Tags

, , , , , , ,

Meatloaf with Onion Gravy

I have never been a fan of meatloaf. We barely ever ate it at home growing up and as an adult, the closest thing I got to meatloaf was a friend’s take on meatloaf and beef Wellington – Meatloaf Wellington. So, I can’t wait to see how this turns out.

This is another two-part recipe with the leftovers being used for patty melts tomorrow. I am doubling the recipe as usual and because of that the loaf will not really fit into the crock-pot, at least not if I want it to keep its shape, it’s going to be cooked in the oven instead. Since I’m not using onions, and they are part of the binding, I tripled the oats going into the recipe. I am using a spicier chili sauce, Sriracha, so I used less than the recipe recommends.

New recipe:
1 1/2 cups quick-cooking oats
1/4 cup milk
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon Sriracha sauce
1 1/2 teaspoons onion powder
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
2 lbs ground beef
Cook on a pan lined with parchment paper at 325 degrees for 1 to 1/5 hours.

1 tablespoon butter
1 teaspoon onion powder
1 1/2 tablespoons flour
3/4 cup chicken broth
1/4 cup heavy cream
When the meatloaf is almost done, melt the butter in the saucepan and add 1 teaspoon of onion powder. Stir in flour; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Gradually whisk in chicken broth and heavy cream; cook over medium heat 5 minutes or until slightly thickened. Serve over meatloaf and mashed potatoes.

Cook refrigerated mashed potatoes according to directions on container. I usually sprinkle salt and pepper in before cooking for extra flavor.

1-12-14a 1-12-14b

Here is how the loaf looked before cooking:

1-12-14c

I have read that if you over mix the meatloaf it will become tough, so I didn’t want to do that. I was afraid I had under mixed it though because of how much oats were still showing.

Here is the finished product:

Meatloaf Meatloaf with Onion Gravy

I really enjoyed this meal. It was a good success for never having done meatloaf before. The meatloaf was nice and tender and the oats gave it a good texture and crunch. I enjoyed the gravy as well. I think I would use less onion powder if I make it again. The onion levels tasted good, but it did give me a bit of indigestion, which is one of the reasons I don’t use fresh onions to begin with.

